The Oskin Label

The Oskin story begins back in 2000 in South Africa, in the Little Karoo region.  For the first time, Odile Texier set off to meet the ostrich ranchers in the little town of Oudtshoorn as part of her work for the food and drink industry.  After several hours’ drive from the Cape, the landscape stretching around her overwhelmed her with a sense of vastness and plenitude.

Nature seemed serene and benevolent in this untamed valley, where thousands of ostriches ran among the bush, the rocks and the alfalfa fields.  In Oudtshoorn, she discovered the reality of rearing these strange birds in a truly sustainable way, an industry which has been supporting the region since the “roaring twenties”.  Odile was struck by how professional the ranchers were, and by their expertise and knowledge of their environment.  She observed then, just as she has in subsequent trips, just how well they take care of these majestic birds.

Leather of incomparable beauty

While Odile Texier was forging a relationship with the Oudtshoorn ranchers, she began to discover the amazing sensuality of ostrich leather. More supple, resistant and lighter than other leathers, it takes on bright colours beautifully and improves with age. Unfortunately,  this scarse and hard-to-produce leather is sold only at extremly high prices by the high-end brands. This spurred Odile Texier to make this product accessible to women like her and create her own brand. She achieved this in 2010, and brought Oskin into the world.

Teaming up with Loretta

After building up a relationship of trust with the ranchers and enjoying the privilege of selecting the skins herself, Odile Texier met Loretta, a professional with 18 years’ experience making bags and luggage from ostrich and crocodile leather.  She joined Odile in Oskin and quickly put her talent to good use for the label.  Out in the suburbs of Cape Town, she hired three skillfull workers to turn these skins into bags and accessories, applying perfect finishes worthy of the most prestigious fashion labels.

Simple and elegant models

Odile Texier is passionate about the richness of colour and diversity that can be attained with ostrich and ostrich leg leather, daring to combine bright colours with an audacity that soon became one of the label’s signatures.  She chooses simple, timeless forms to showcase the leather and endure changing fashions.  Using the artisan skills and expertise of Loretta and with a careful examination of each skin, each product is individually cut and assembled by hand.  Each item is limited edition, ensuring that Oskin products remain unique and reveal their beauty over time, according to the personality of the women wearing them.

La maison Oskin

L’histoire de la maison Oskin commence en 2000 en Afrique du Sud, dans la région du petit Karoo. Odile Texier part pour la première fois à la rencontre des éleveurs d’autruches de la petite ville d’Oudtshoorn, dans le cadre de ses responsabilités dans le secteur agroalimentaire. Après quelques heures de route en provenance du Cap, le paysage qui s’étale alors devant ses yeux lui procure un sentiment d’immensité et de plénitude qui la submerge.

Dans cette vallée sauvage où la nature semble bienveillante et sereine, des milliers d’autruches courent au milieu du bush, de la rocaille et des champs de luzerne. A Oudtshoorn, elle découvre la réalité de l’élevage vraiment responsable de ces étranges volatiles, qui fait vivre la région depuis les « années folles ». Marquée par le professionnalisme des éleveurs, leur savoir-faire et leur connaissance de l’environnement, elle constate, comme à chacun de ses voyages ultérieurs, à quel point ils prennent grand soin de ces « demoiselles sensibles ».

Un cuir d’une beauté incomparable
Pendant qu’Odile Texier tisse des liens forts avec les éleveurs d’Oudtshoorn, elle découvre avec émerveillement la sensualité du cuir d’autruche. Plus souple, plus résistant et plus léger que les autres cuirs, il se teinte facilement de couleurs éclatantes et s’embellit au fil du temps. Mais malheureusement ce cuir rare et difficile à produire est vendu extrêmement cher par les marques de luxe. Odile Texier décide alors de rendre cette matière accessible à des femmes comme elle, en créant sa propre marque en 2010 : Oskin.

La rencontre avec Loretta
Ayant déjà noué des relations de confiance avec les éleveurs, qui lui offrent le privilège de venir sélectionner elle-même ses peaux, Odile Texier rencontre alors Loretta, qui a 18 ans d’expérience dans la fabrication d’articles de maroquinerie en cuir d’autruches et de crocodile. Elle se joint alors à l’aventure Oskin, et met sa créativité et son talent au service de la marque. Dans la banlieue du Cap, elle emploie trois habiles ouvrières qui transforment les peaux en accessoires de maroquinerie dont les finitions parfaites n’ont rien à envier aux maisons les plus prestigieuses.

Des modèles simples et élégants
Fascinée par la diversité et la richesse des couleurs des cuirs d’autruche et de patte d’autruche,  Odile Texier ose marier les couleurs vives avec une audace qui est vite devenue l’une des signatures de la marque. Elle privilégie les formes simples et intemporelles, qui mettent en valeur la matière et traversent les effets de mode. Grâce au  savoir-faire artisanal de Loretta et à l’observation minutieuse de chaque peau, les articles sont  coupés et assemblés individuellement et manuellement. Produits en série limitée, les articles Oskin sont des pièces uniques, qui révèlent leur beauté en se patinant au fil du temps, selon la personnalité de ceux qui les portent.